Jul 15 2014

Justin Furstenfeld to Release an Acoustic Album: Songs From An Open Book

songs from an open book

If you follow Justin on Twitter you know that he has been in the studio recording an acoustic album. Until now, all we’ve known is that he has been recording. Now details have been announced via Blue October’s social media pages.

They posted this announcement on Twitter:

New album coming out September 2nd to be presented at the open book shows.

And this announcement on Facebook:

Finally finished this piece of work. So proud . One track of guild acoustic guitar , one track of vocals. The answer , black orchid , angel , schizophrenia , calling you , chameleon boy , sound of pulling heaven down , hate me , any man in America , worry list , fear , not broken anymore.

Here is a complete track list for the album:

songs from an open book

Songs From An Open Book will be available from the Blue October merchandise store, Amazon, iTunes, and other retail outlets. It will also be available to purchase at shows on the Open Book tour.

 Update: The album is now available to pre-order from the Blue October merchandise store. Any pre-order includes an instant download of Angel. There are several pre-order packages available. You can see them here.

The album is also available to pre-order from iTunes and Amazon.

Mar 17 2011

Cover Art and Track List for Ugly Side: An Acoustic Evening with Blue October

Amazon has Ugly Side: An Acoustic Evening with Blue October available for pre-order. They also have the cover art, track list and a new release date of May 10th.


  1. Ugly Side
  2. The Answers
  3. Dirt Room
  4. Come In Closer
  5. Into The Ocean
  6. Colorado 5591
  7. Picking Up Pieces
  8. Tomorrow
  9. X Amount of Words
  10. Amazing
  11. The End

I’ll admit I’m disappointed that Holler isn’t on the list- it was my favorite performance from the acoustic shows last summer. Oh well, I will still love the album and am excited to add it to my collection!

Feb 19 2011

Blue October to Release Acoustic CD on April 26th

I just received this press release about the acoustic tour and acoustic cd:

Blue October, known for its captivating live performance and platinum-selling albums, will offer fans a rare chance to see them in a stripped-down, intimate concert setting.

The band performed several acoustic performances at Austin’s historic Paramount Theater, garnering overwhelming reactions from fans. The positive response prompted the band to take the experience on the road.

In conjunction with the tour, the band will release The Ugly Side: An Acoustic Evening with Blue October on Say It To My Face Records via Brando Records on April 26. The album features 12 acoustic versions of fan favorites, recorded during various 2010 performances.

“We’ve always been known as a Rock band and that’s where our roots lie.  Over the years I’ve been lucky enough to have the freedom to express myself and fully utilize freedom of speech through music and lyrics,” said lead singer Justin Furstenfeld. “Sometimes the meaning can get lost, so we’ve turned down the distortion so the message can be heard.”

Tickets for the general public will go on-sale starting Friday, February 18.

Blue October has risen through the ranks to become a platinum-selling rock band with a body of work that includes modern rock hits “Hate Me” and “Dirt Room”, and the No. 1 VH-1 smash, “Into the Ocean”. The band is putting finishing touches on its sixth studio album, due out end of the summer.

An Acoustic Evening with Blue October

  • 05/04 – House of Blues, Chicago, IL
  • 05/05 – Pabst Theater, Milwaukee, WI
  • 05/06 – The Pageant, St. Louis, MO
  • 05/07 – Orpheum Theater, Omaha, NE
  • 05/10 – House of Blue, Cleveland, OH
  • 05/11 – Water Street Music Hall, Rochester, NY
  • 05/12 – Irving Plaza, New York, NY
  • 05/13 – House of Blues, Boston, MA
  • 05/15 – Theatre of the Living Arts, Philadelphia, PA
  • 05/17 – Ram’s Head Live, Baltimore, MD
  • 05/18 – The Fillmore, Charlotte, NC
  • 05/19 – Center Stage, Atlanta, GA
  • 05/20 – House of Blues, Orlando, FL

Additional ticket information can be found at blueoctober.com.

Blue October is represented worldwide by Rainmaker Artists.

Update: Please see this post for the track list, cover art and new release date.

Jan 6 2011

Update on Blue October’s Acoustic Album

When the 2010 Acoustic Tour was announced it included the information that the shows would be recorded for “a future live acoustic release”. Other than that first announcement there has not been any mention or news regarding the acoustic album. Jeremy posted this information on the Open Book Forum today-

I have seen a little bit of concern about the acoustic shows we did and their not being a recording out yet. Well, let me ease your concerns. I have in my possession the master files for all 5 shows. Our FOH,( T Hater) and I dropped and transferred all the files last night here at Mousseroom Studios. It might be a little bit, but ….. after much discussion, and searching, THE FILES DO EXIST. I will try to keep you guys updated, and let ya know if we find anything on those files that is worth releasing. We are our own worst critics ya know.

Happy New Year Everybody.


Keeping my fingers crossed that they find something they like on those files!!

ETA: Jeremy posted this on the Open Book forum on January 10th-

I’m sitting in my tiny little studio going thru Acoustic songs. Listening to you guys sing back to us is UNREAL, EMOTIONAL, and EXQUISITE! I am very lucky and blessed. Thanks very much.


Photo property of Longoria Photography